Skip to main content
URMC / Labs / DeLouise Lab / News




Success Stories: Pilot Grants lead to R01, new business

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Lisa DeLouise, Ph.D., M.P.D., associate professor of Dermatology, has received two Pilot Grants from the CTSI, each of which helped to support a line of research that blossomed into much more. She shared her experiences with CTSI Stories.

The first one I got was in 2007, and it was for nanoparticle skin research. I look at cosmetic products to see if they have efficacy and any unintended toxicity issues, and back in 2006, I got involved in the question of whether nanoparticles that are increasingly formulated into various topical cosmetic products have any of these side effects. In sunscreens, for example, there are ingredients that can have unintended biological consequences, so I was looking at a couple compounds used in sunscreens -- titanium oxide and zinc oxide -- which absorb UV light so your skin is protected. When these compounds were first used, they were approved by the FDA at the micron level -- so, relatively speaking, the particles were too large to seep through skin.

Read More: Success Stories: Pilot Grants lead to R01, new business

Brian Palmer Wins Best Overall Poster by a Student or Postdoc at Toxicology Retreat

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Congratulations to Brian Palmer, a Toxicology graduate student in Lisa DeLouise's lab on winning Best Overall Poster by a Student or Postdoc at the 2015 Toxicology Department Retreat. Brian's current research focus is investigating the epidermal penetration of topically applied nanoparticles and the effect they have on skin resident immune cells in a murine model.

Chitavi Devi Maulloo Awarded 2015 Janet Howell Clark Prize

Friday, May 15, 2015

The 2015 Janet Howell Clark Prize is being awarded to Chitavi Devi Maulloo (CHM BS, BMG BS ’15). The Janet Howell Clark Prize is awarded annually to a senior woman who has shown the greatest promise in creative work in astronomy, biology, chemistry, or physics, and who has shown outstanding versatility in the mastery of allied fields. Selection is based on recommendations by the respective departments, which are evaluated by a committee appointed by the Dean of the College. The award consists of a cash prize and recognition at a special senior ceremony the Saturday of commencement. Chitavi will also be recognized at the Chemistry Diploma Ceremony.

Read More: Chitavi Devi Maulloo Awarded 2015 Janet Howell Clark Prize

Former DeLouise Lab Member, Luke Mortensen Promoted to Assistant Professor at University of Georgia

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

photo of Luke Mortensen

Luke Mortensen, Ph.D.

Former BME graduate student in Lisa DeLouise's lab, Luke Mortensen, Ph.D. has been promoted at the University of Georgia to Assistant Professor in Regenerative Medicine and Engineering.

Luke's current research focuses on intravital microscopy development for the study of tissue regeneration. Currently his lab is using custom multiphoton microscope to elucidate the mechanism of mesenchymal stem cell (MSC) therapy in congenital bone diseases like osteogenesis imperfecta.

Congratulations Luke!