Skip to main content
Explore URMC

URMC Logo

menu
URMC / Labs / Nedergaard Lab / Personnel

Personnel

Principal Investigator

Maiken NedergaardMaiken Nedergaard, M.D., DMSc
KMRB 1-9915B
Phone: (585) 273-2868
nedergaard@urmc.rochester.edu

The basic biology of glial cells in the CNS and the role of astrocytes in several neurological diseases, including stroke, spinal cord injury, epilepsy, tremor, and ALS. Research is aimed at defining new strategies for the treatment of neurological diseases that target astrocytic dysfunction.

Faculty

Fengfei DingFengfei Ding, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
fengfei_ding@urmc.rochester.edu

EEG recording and behavior tests

Ali ErturkAli Erturk, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
ali_erturk@urmc.rochester.edu

Study of neurodegeneration and inflammation in acute brain injuries using tissue clearing technologies.

Rashad HussainRashad Hussain, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
rashad_hussain@urmc.rochester.edu

Glymphatic system in health and disease; neuron-glia interactions and signaling mechanisms.

Nanhong LouNanhong Lou, M.D.
Research Assistant Professor
nanhong_lou@urmc.rochester.edu

The role of gliosis and glial cell signaling in stroke by using in vivo multiphoton imaging and electrophysiological methods.

Yuan LuYuan Lu, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
yuan_lu@urmc.rochester.edu

Electrophysiological study of neuro-glia interaction in neurological diseases including Alzheimer's disease

Iben LundgaardIben Lundgaard, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
iben_lundgaard@urmc.rochester.edu

The function of astrocyte-oligodendrocyte gap junctions.

Rupal MehtaRupal Mehta, M.D.
Assistant Professor
rupal_mehta@urmc.rochester.edu

Small vessel disease and blood-brain barrier disruption in stroke

Erlend NagelhusErlend Arnulf Nagelhus, M.D., Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
e.a.nagelhus@medisin.uio.no

Glia-vascular Imaging

Weiguo PengWeiguo Peng, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
weiguo_peng@urmc.rochester.edu

Spinal cord and spinal nerve injury; more specifically the secondary injury after spinal cord trauma and how to improve the recovery of spinal cord injury.

Jiandi WanJiandi Wan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
jiandi_wan@urmc.rochester.edu

Red cell mechanosensing dynamics, tissue engineering and fluid dynamics.

Jim XuJim Xu, Ph.D.
Associate
qiwu_xu@urmc.rochester.edu

Using in vivo and in vitro electrophysiological, multiphoton, oxygen sensor and potassium sensor methods to investigate the physiological functions of astrocytes in the central nervous system.

Postdoctoral Scholars

Lauren HablitzLauren Hablitz, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
lauren_hablitz@urmc.rochester.edu

Sisi PengSisi Peng, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
sisi_peng@urmc.rochester.edu

Qian SunQian Sun, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
qian_sun@urmc.rochester.edu

Xiaowei WangXiaowei Wang
Postdoctoral Associate
xiaowei_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Technicians and Staff

Allison Eberhardt Allison Eberhardt
Technical Associate
allison_eberhardt@urmc.rochester.edu

Michael GiannettoMichael Giannetto
Technical Associate I
michael_giannetto@urmc.rochester.edu

Hongyi KangHongyi Kang
Laboratory Technician
hongyi_kang@urmc.rochester.edu

Sleep/Awake Study

Ning KangNing Kang
Laboratory Technician
ning_kang@urmc.rochester.edu

Benjamin KressBenjamin Kress
Technical Associate
benjamin_kress@urmc.rochester.edu

Glial-neuronal interactions underlying the development and maintenance of chronic pain.

Erin McMullenErin McMullen
Administrative Assistant
Phone: (585) 275-0550
erin_mcmullen@urmc.rochester.edu

Christina PolitoChristina Polito
Center Administrator
Phone: (585) 276-4595
christina_polito@urmc.rochester.edu

Wei SongWei Song
Laboratory Technician
wei_song@urmc.rochester.edu

Amanda SweeneyAmanda Sweeney
Technical Associate
amanda_sweeney@urmc.rochester.edu

Hanna VinitskyHanna Vinitsky
Technical Associate I
hvinitsky@yahoo.com

Wei WangWei Wang
Technical Associate
wei_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Christopher WuChristopher Wu, MBA
Senior Accountant
Phone: (585) 276-8359
christopher_wu@urmc.rochester.edu

Dan XueDan Xue
Graphic Designer
dan_xue@urmc.rochester.edu

Graduate Students

Kosha DholakiaKosha Dholakia
Graduate Student
kdholaki@ur.rochester.edu

Humberto MestreHumberto Mestre
Graduate Student
humberto_mestre@urmc.rochester.edu

Vascular contributions to cognitive impairment and dementia

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Arokoruba Cheetham-WestArokoruba Oboba Cheetham-West
Undergraduate Student

Anne ChengAnne Xiaoan Cheng
Undergraduate Student

Ekam GillEkam Singh Gill
SMD Unpaid Intern

Jinwook JungJinwook (Alex) Jung
Undergraduate Student

Genaro OlvedaGenaro Olveda
Undergraduate Student
genaro.olveda@rochester.edu

Sarah PurcellSarah Purcell
SMD Unpaid Intern

Hetince ZhaoHetince Zhao
Undergraduate Student
hetince_zhao@urmc.rochester.edu

Sitong ZhouSitong (Agnes) Zhou
SMD Unpaid Intern
Sitong_Zhao@urmc.rochester.edu