Skip to main content
Explore URMC

Our Team

Executive Board

The Executive Board provides organizational oversight, establishes and ensures the maintenance of good governance practices, and guides Center priorities.

Marianne Chiafery, M.S.
Associate Professor, Clinical Nursing

Carl T. D'Angio, M.D.
Professor, Pediatrics
Professor, Medical Humanities and Bioethics

Richard Dees, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
Professor, Medical Humanities and Bioethics
Director, Program in Bioethics

William J. FitzPatrick, Ph.D.
Gideon Webster Burbank Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy

Patrick J. Hopkins, D.N.P
Co-Director, Accelerated Programs for Non-Nurses
Assistant Professor, Clinical Nursing
Specialty Director, Neonatal NP Program

Adrienne Morgan, Ph.D.
Vice President, Equity and Inclusion
Sr. Associate Dean, Equity and Inclusion
Associate Professor, Medical Humanities and Bioethics

Mical Raz, M.D., Ph.D., M.S.H.P.
Charles E. and Dale L. Phelps Professor in Public Policy and Health
Professor of History and Medicine 

Bernard Lawrence Sussman, M.D.
Professor, Medicine
Professor, Medical Humanities and Bioethics

Mitchell Wharton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Clinical Nursing
Associate Dean, Equity and Inclusion

Martin S. Zand, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Medicine
Senior Associate Dean, Clinical Research
Co-Director, Clinical & Translational Science Institute
Dean's Professorship, Medicine

Faculty & Staff

Our faculty and administrators are at the core of work of the Center. We are proud of our extraordinary and interdisciplinary faculty, all distinguished educators and scholars in the field of bioethics. We welcome you to learn more about the clinical, educational, scholarship, and research interests of our faculty.

Core Faculty & Staff

Center Directors

Marjorie ShawMarjorie Shaw, J.D., Ph.D.
Interim Director,
Paul M. Schyve, MD Center for Bioethics
(585) 275-0174

Linda H. Chaudron, MD, MS Linda H. Chaudron, M.D., M.S.
Adjunct Professor, Department of Psychiatry

Linda Chaudron, M.D., M.S. is currently the Vice President and RG Bing-You Chair for Medical Education, Maine Medical Center and Visiting Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Tufts School of Medicine. Dr. Chaudron served both as the Acting Director and Director of the URMC Paul M. Schyve Center for Bioethics before moving to Maine. 

Timothy Edward Quill, M.D.Timothy Edward Quill, M.D.
Professor Emeritus

Timothy E. Quill, M.D. is Professor Emeritus, University of Rochester. Previously Dr. Quill served as the Georgia and Thomas Gosnell Distinguished Professor of Palliative Care, and Professor of Medicine, Psychiatry, Medical Humanities and Nursing at the University of Rochester School of Medicine (URMC). He was the Founding Director of the URMC Palliative Care Program and is the Inaugural Acting Director of the URMC Paul M. Schyve Center for Bioethics.