Skip to main content
Explore URMC
URMC / Center for Community Health & Prevention / News & Events / Dr. David Satcher Community Health Improvement Awards


Dr. David Satcher Community Health Improvement Awards

Photo of David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D.

David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D.
Learn about Dr. Satcher

The Satcher Community Health Improvement Awards recognizes University of Rochester Medical Center (URMC) faculty and staff for significant contributions to the health of the community through research, teaching, practice, and/or service programs.

The awards reflect the mission of the Center for Community Health & Prevention and the URMC to develop and expand community-university partnerships that support community-engaged research and interventions that reduce health inequities and improve the community's health. Awards are made based on work done in the greater Rochester area and Finger Lakes region.

The Dr. David Satcher Community Health Improvement Awards are typically held in person with a keynote speaker, but this year, due to the pandemic, awardees are being recognized and sharing their commitment to community health improvement virtually.

1 p.m. Thursday, May 6

Eugenia SouthKeynote Speaker: Eugenia C. South, M.D., M.S.P.H., physician at Penn Medicine and assistant professor of Emergency Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. She also serves as the vice chair for Inclusion, Diversity and Equity.

Presentation Topic: "Making Black Lives Matter through Investment in Black Neighborhoods"

“As a nation, we have made a choice to largely ignore what the evidence says about creating safe neighborhoods. We have declined to fund place-based interventions, such as parks and trees, that actually work to protect citizens. And through our inaction, we have decided that Black lives do not, in fact, matter as much as White ones.” These are words that keynote speaker, Dr. Eugenia South, Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine wrote in a recent Washington Post op-ed about preventing gun violence in Black neighborhoods.

In this talk, Dr. South addressed the root causes of urban gun violence including structural racism, as well as several place-based interventions from her research that work to prevent gun crime and promote community health.  

Watch the full Satcher Award event.

Did you have a question that wasn't answered at the event? Find Dr. South's responses here.

2021 Awardees

Senior Faculty Awardees (Awarded jointly)

Laura Jean Shipley headshotLaura Jean Shipley, M.D., FAAP

Dr. Shipley is a professor of Clinical Pediatrics and vice chair for Population and Behavioral Health in the Department of Pediatrics. She practiced medicine as a primary care pediatrician at Panorama Pediatric Group in Rochester, prior to joining the department leadership team in January 2019 and has 25 years of experience in overseeing effective primary care approaches, with a particular interest in social-emotional and behavioral health. In addition, she is the Associate Medical Director for Maternal Child Health at Accountable Health Partners, informing and leading population health strategic approaches for children and families.

Jeffrey Kaczorowski headshotJeffrey Kaczorowski, M.D., FAAP

Dr. Kaczorowski is a professor and vice chair for Community and Government Affairs in the Department of Pediatrics. He was Director of the National American Academy of Pediatrics Community Pediatrics Training Initiative from 2004 to 2019 and is currently its Senior Advisor.  In that role, he has worked with more than 100 Departments of Pediatrics and Children’s Hospitals across the US to help them develop their community health approaches. Dr. Kaczorowski also helped to found Rochester’s children’s advocacy organization, The Children’s Agenda, and was its first Executive Director. 


Dr. Shipley and Dr. Kaczorowski's community partners include:

Junior Faculty Awardee

Angela BrancheAngela Branche, M.D.

Dr. Branche is an assistant professor at the University of Rochester, School of Medicine. She currently has an inpatient and outpatient practice caring for patients with general infectious  diseases and HIV. She is also the co-director of the NIH-funded UR Vaccine Treatment and Evaluation Unit. Her current research activities explore clinical disease, pathogenesis, development of therapeutics for bacterial and viral respiratory infections and she is actively involved in the NIH and University of Rochester research response to COVID-19.

She has played an integral role in COVID-19 vaccine research, not only working on vaccine trials, but also being a trusted face in the Rochester community. Dr. Branche participated in door-to-door outreach to the Black community to increase vaccine trial participation.

Dr. Branche's community partners include:

  • Jackie Dozier, community health and well-being program manager at Common Ground Health
  • Phyllis Jackson, R.N., community wellness project manager at Common Ground Health
  • Sister Marsha Allen, leader of the Vineyard Farm in Rochester and the Global Humanitarian Surround Care Mobile Wellness Initiative

facebook icontwitterInstagram icon

Past Events

The 11th annual Dr. David Satcher Community Health Improvement Awards were held virtually in 2020.The annual event, usually held in the spring and celebrated with a major speaker, often Dr. Satcher, was not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but the awardees’ work, in partnership with their community partners, was recognized in local media, videos of the awardees describing their work and more.

The 2020 award recipients were:

  • Senior Faculty Awardee: Susan Hetherington, Ph.D., retired; associate professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Education; Director, Strong Center for Developmental Disabilities; University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
  • Senior Faculty Awardee: Steven L. Barnett, M.D.,associate professor, Departments of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences; Director, Rochester Prevention Research Center: National Center for Deaf Health Research; University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
  • Junior Faculty Awardee: M. Mahala Schlagman, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine, General Medicine Department; Director, Internal Medicine Health Equity Curriculum; Director, Medical Legal Partnership; University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
  • Staff Awardee: Amali Epa-Llop, Ph.D., Sr. Human Subject Research Coordinator; Women’s Initiative Supporting Health (WISH); University of Rochester

Past Recipients 

See a full list of former Dr. David Satcher Community Health Improvement awardees.

Questions: If you have any questions, please contact us at or call the Center for Community Health & Prevention at (585) 602-0801.