Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC


What our graduates say...

"What really made me fall in love with the program and Rochester were the people I began to work with everyday. I truly feel our faculty and residents are like family and look forward to working with them each shift no matter how challenging it may be. We all strive to help each other both on and off the job. Meliora!"

Sean Cleary, M.D.


See the Department of Imaging Sciences Faculty page for a complete list of our faculty.

The University of Rochester Diagnostic Imaging Program is a subspecialized program. The vast majority of faculty are fellowship trained and specialize in one or two subfields of Imaging. The education program follows that structure, with two and four week resident rotations, and a rotating conference schedule.


Jennifer Harvey, M.D., F.A.C.R.

Dr. Stanley M. Rogoff and Dr. Raymond Gramiak
Professor and Chair
Department of Imaging Sciences

David Waldman, M.D., Ph.D.

Susan Hobbs, MD, PhD

Radiology Residency Program

Susan Hobbs

Devang Butani, M.D.

Associate Director
Radiology Residency Program

Dr. Butani

Apeksha Chaturvedi, M.B.B.S.

Associate Director
Radiology Residency Program

Dr. Chaturvedi

John G. Strang, M.D.

Associate Director
Radiology Residency Program

John Strang, M.D.

Radiology Residency Education Directors

The ACGME Diagnostic Radiology Review Committee defines nine radiologic subspecialties, each with an education director. The education director of each subspecialty is responsible for its educational content and curriculum, as well as the evaluation of each resident at the end of the monthly rotation. The conference schedule is also founded upon these nine subspecialties.

Each education director at The University of Rochester exceeds the following ACGME requirements:

  1. subspecialty certification (CAQ), fellowship training or three years of subspecialty practice;
  2. membership in a subspecialty society;
  3. publications and presentations in the subspecialty;
  4. annual CME credits in the subspecialty; or,
  5. participation in maintenance of certification with emphasis on the subspecialty area.

Abdominal Radiology

Dr. Oppenheimer

Daniel C. Oppenheimer, M.D.

Breast Radiology

Photo of Avice O'Connell

Avice O’Connell, M.D.

Cardiothoracic Radiology

Photo of Susan Hobbs

Katherine A. Kaproth-Joslin, M.D., Ph.D.

Emergency Radiology

Dr. O'Connor

Daniel Kawakyu-O'Connor, M.D.

Musculoskeletal Radiology

Vanessa Zayas-Colon, M.D.

Vanessa Zayas-Colon, M.D.


Dr. Portanova

Anthony Portanova, M.D.

Nuclear Radiology

Photo of Savita Puri

Savita Puri, M.D. M.P.H.

Pediatric Radiology

Dr. Sultan

Nadia Sultan, M.B.B.S., M.Med.

Radiologic Physics

Photo of Thomas Foster

Thomas H. Foster, Ph.D.

Vascular and Interventional Radiology

Dr. Cantos

Andrew J. Cantos, M.D.