Skip to main content

SMD Logo

Guest Speakers

Faculty Speaker

Brad Mahon

Brad Mahon, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Neurosurgery, and the Center for Visual Science

Intraoperative mapping in awake neurosurgical patients: new tools to study brain function

Post Doctoral Fellow Speaker

Bethany Plakke

Bethany Plakke

Auditory and Audiovisual memory In the Prefrontal Cortex

Dr. Plakke is a postdoctoral scientist in the Romanski Lab in the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Rochester. Her research focuses on how the ventral prefrontal cortex, a brain region critical for communication, is utilized for processing and remembering complex auditory and audiovisual information.

Student Speaker

Jennifer Stripay

Jennifer Stripay

Targeting a network of cancer control nodes through rescue of c-Cbl: a novel therapeutic approach in GBM

Jennifer Stripay is a PhD student in the lab of Dr. Mark Noble and a member of the Neuroscience Graduate Program. She received her B.S. in Biology from Penn State University in 2009 and spent two years working as a research scientist at the University of Pittsburgh before coming to Rochester in 2011. Her thesis work is focused on identifying therapeutic approaches for malignant brain tumors that target fundamental, dysregulated pathways and impact multiple nodes of cancer control.