Skip to main content
Explore URMC
menu
URMC / Labs / Benoit Lab / Lab Members
 

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Danielle BenoitDanielle Benoit, Ph.D.
Goergen Hall 308
Phone: (585) 273-2698
benoit@bme.rochester.edu

Therapeutic biomaterials development for tissue engineering and drug delivery with applications ranging from bone regeneration to antioral biofilm treatments

Postdoctoral Scholars

Yiming LiYiming Li, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
yli194@ur.rochester.edu

Engineered Periosteum and Targeted Drug Delivery

Jared MernessJared Merness, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
jared_merness@urmc.rochester.edu

Kenneth SimsKenneth Sims, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
kenneth_sims@urmc.rochester.edu

Yuanhui SongYuanhui Song, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
ysong38@ur.rochester.edu

Engineered Salivary Gland Tissue Chips

Research Staff

Jorge JimenezJorge Jimenez
Laboratory Technician III
jorge.jimenez@rochester.eduL

Azmeer SharipolAzmeer Sharipol
Laboratory Technician III
m.sharipol@rochester.edu

Salivary gland regeneration via hydrogel based encapsulation and ‘microbubble’ technology.

Graduate Students

Marian Ackun-FarmmerMarian Ackun-Farmmer, M.S.
BME Ph.D. Graduate Student
mackunfa@ur.rochester.edu

Bone targeted micelle drug delivery

David FraserDavid Robert Fraser, DDS
TBS Ph.D. Graduate Student
David_Fraser@URMC.Rochester.edu

Synthetic hydrogels for periodontal tissue engineering

Clyde OverbyClyde Overby
BME Ph.D. Graduate Student
coverby@ur.rochester.edu

Baixue (Dorothy) XiaoBaixue (Dorothy) Xiao
BME Ph.D. Graduate Student
bxiao3@ur.rochester.edu

Nanoparticles, Osteogenic Differentiation of Stem Cells

Research Assistants

Emma CastiblancoEmma Castiblanco
Summer Scholars, Biology Major at Haverford College
ecastiblan@haverford.edu

Griffin CrossGriffin Cross
Summer REU, Undergraduate Student at Washington University in St. Louis, Biomedical Engineering
gcross@wustl.edu

Conjugating peptide to nanoparticles to facilitate greater cellular uptake

Brian HeBrian He
Undergraduate Student, Chemical Engineering
bhe4@u.rochester.edu

Characterizing Interaction between Nanoparticle and Drug through Spectroscopic Methods.

Adebimpe IsafiadeAdebimpe Isafiade
Xerox program, Undergraduate student, Chemical engineering
aisafiad@rochester.edu

Maya JohnsonMaya Johnson
SURF Program, Biology Major at Xavier University of Louisiana
mjohns49@xula.edu

Irem KocakIrem Kocak
Undergraduate Student
ikocak@u.rochester.edu

Julian MacerenJulian Maceren
Undergraduate Student
jmaceren@u.rochester.edu

Befikadu MekonnenBefikadu Mekonnen
Undergraduate Student, Biomedical Engineering
bmekonn2@u.rochester.edu

Investigating macrophage uptake of nanoparticles

Tram NguyenTram Nguyen
Undergraduate Student, Biomedical Engineering
nnguy22@u.rochester.edu

Tuning PEG hydrogel composition to modulate periodontal ligament cell differentiation

Sydney WomackSydney Womack
NSF REU - Human Health: Nano to Network, Biomedical Engineering major at the University of South Carolina
sjwomack@email.sc.edu

Exploring the endothelial potential of mouse mesenchymal stem cells