Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC
menu
URMC / Labs / Nedergaard Lab / Lab Members

 

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Maiken Nedergaard
Research Interest: The basic biology of glial cells in the CNS and the role of astrocytes in several neurological diseases, including stroke, spinal cord injury, epilepsy, tremor, and ALS. Research is aimed at defining new strategies for the treatment of neurological diseases that target astrocytic dysfunction.

Faculty

Fengfei Ding
Research Interest: EEG recording and behavior tests
Ting Du
Research Interest: Pathophysiological mechanisms of brain edema
Ali Erturk
Ali Erturk, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
ali_erturk@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: Study of neurodegeneration and inflammation in acute brain injuries using tissue clearing technologies.
Lauren Hablitz
Research Interest: Basic biological mechanisms of circadian synchrony and entrainment in health and disease. Understanding how circadian rhythms and sleep can enhance glymphatic, neuronal, and cerebrovascular function.
Rashad Hussain
Research Interest: Glymphatic system in health and disease; neuron-glia interactions and signaling mechanisms.
Guojun Liu
Guojun Liu, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
guojun_liu@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: The Glymphatic system in hydrocephalus; the mechanism of CSF secretion in neurological disease.
Rupal Mehta
Research Interest: Small vessel disease and blood-brain barrier disruption in stroke
Weiguo Peng
Research Interest: Spinal cord and spinal nerve injury; more specifically the secondary injury after spinal cord trauma and how to improve the recovery of spinal cord injury.
Jim Xu
Research Interest: Using in vivo and in vitro electrophysiological, multiphoton, oxygen sensor and potassium sensor methods to investigate the physiological functions of astrocytes in the central nervous system.

Postdoctoral Scholars

Virginia 'Pla Requena
Virginia 'Pla Requena, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
virginia_plarequena@urmc.rochester.edu
Sebastian Holst
Sebastian Holst, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
Research Interest: Visiting Researcher
Sisi Peng
Sisi Peng, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
sisi_peng@urmc.rochester.edu
Qian Sun
Qian Sun, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
qian_sun@urmc.rochester.edu

Research Staff

Janna-Rayanne Benraiss
Janna-Rayanne Benraiss
Office Assistant
Phone: (585) 275-0550
janna-rayanne_benraiss@urmc.rochester.edu
Michael Gannon
Michael Gannon, Ph.D.
Staff Accountant
Phone: (585) 276-8359
michael_gannon@urmc.rochester.edu
Michael Giannetto
Michael Giannetto
Technical Associate
michael_giannetto@urmc.rochester.edu
Aurakoch Harnpramukkul
Aurakoch Harnpramukkul
Technical Associate
Aurakoch_Harnpramukkul@urmc.rochester.edu
Yara Izhiman
Yara Izhiman
Technical Associate
Yara_Izhiman@urmc.rochester.edu
Ning Kang
Ning Kang
Laboratory Technician
ning_kang@urmc.rochester.edu
Patrick Kiernan
Patrick Kiernan
Administrative Assistant
Patrick_Kiernan@URMC.Rochester.edu
Christina Polito
Christina Polito
Center Administrator
Phone: (585) 276-4595
christina_polito@urmc.rochester.edu
Tyler Reid
Tyler Reid, M.S.
IT Desktop Support/Programmer
KMRB 1-9649
Phone: (585) 273-5332
tyler_reid@urmc.rochester.edu
Lane Reynolds
Lane Reynolds
Technical Associate
Lane_Reynolds @urmc.rochester.edu
Brianna Roy
Brianna Roy
Technical Associate
Brianna_Roy@urmc.rochester.edu
Wei Song
Wei Song
Technical Associate
wei_song@urmc.rochester.edu
Amanda Sweeney
Amanda Sweeney
Technical Associate
amanda_sweeney@urmc.rochester.edu
Wei Wang
Wei Wang
Technical Associate
wei_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Graduate Students

Saiyue Deng
Saiyue Deng
Visiting Graduate Student
saiyue_deng@urmc.rochester.edu
Humberto Mestre
Research Interest: Vascular contributions to cognitive impairment and dementia

Research Assistants

Arokoruba Cheetham-West
Arokoruba Oboba Cheetham-West
Undergraduate Student
Shinya Sakurai
Shinya Sakurai
Undergraduate Student