Skip to main content
Explore URMC
menu
URMC / Labs / Nedergaard Lab / Lab Members
 

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Maiken NedergaardMaiken Nedergaard, M.D., DMSc
KMRB 1-9915B
Phone: (585) 273-2868
nedergaard@urmc.rochester.edu

The basic biology of glial cells in the CNS and the role of astrocytes in several neurological diseases, including stroke, spinal cord injury, epilepsy, tremor, and ALS. Research is aimed at defining new strategies for the treatment of neurological diseases that target astrocytic dysfunction.

Faculty

Fengfei DingFengfei Ding, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
fengfei_ding@urmc.rochester.edu

EEG recording and behavior tests

Ting DuTing Du, M.D., Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
ting_du@urmc.rochester.edu

Pathophysiological mechanisms of brain edema

Ali ErturkAli Erturk, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
ali_erturk@urmc.rochester.edu

Study of neurodegeneration and inflammation in acute brain injuries using tissue clearing technologies.

Rashad HussainRashad Hussain, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
rashad_hussain@urmc.rochester.edu

Glymphatic system in health and disease; neuron-glia interactions and signaling mechanisms.

Nanhong LouNanhong Lou, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
nanhong_lou@urmc.rochester.edu

The role of gliosis and glial cell signaling in stroke by using in vivo multiphoton imaging and electrophysiological methods.

Yuan LuYuan Lu, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
yuan_lu@urmc.rochester.edu

Electrophysiological study of neuro-glia interaction in neurological diseases including Alzheimer's disease

Iben LundgaardIben Lundgaard, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
iben_lundgaard@urmc.rochester.edu

The function of astrocyte-oligodendrocyte gap junctions.

Rupal MehtaRupal Mehta, M.D.
Assistant Professor
rupal_mehta@urmc.rochester.edu

Small vessel disease and blood-brain barrier disruption in stroke

Weiguo PengWeiguo Peng, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
weiguo_peng@urmc.rochester.edu

Spinal cord and spinal nerve injury; more specifically the secondary injury after spinal cord trauma and how to improve the recovery of spinal cord injury.

Jiandi WanJiandi Wan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
jiandi_wan@urmc.rochester.edu

Red cell mechanosensing dynamics, tissue engineering and fluid dynamics.

Jim XuJim Xu, Ph.D.
Associate
qiwu_xu@urmc.rochester.edu

Using in vivo and in vitro electrophysiological, multiphoton, oxygen sensor and potassium sensor methods to investigate the physiological functions of astrocytes in the central nervous system.

Postdoctoral Scholars

Virginia 'Pla RequenaVirginia 'Pla Requena, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
virginia_plarequena@urmc.rochester.edu

Lauren HablitzLauren Hablitz, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
lauren_hablitz@urmc.rochester.edu

Sisi PengSisi Peng, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
sisi_peng@urmc.rochester.edu

Qian SunQian Sun, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
qian_sun@urmc.rochester.edu

Xiaowei WangXiaowei Wang, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
xiaowei_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Research Staff

Janna-Rayanne BenraissJanna-Rayanne Benraiss
Office Assistant
Phone: (585) 275-0550
janna-rayanne_benraiss@urmc.rochester.edu

Michael GannonMichael Gannon, Ph.D.
Staff Accountant
Phone: (585) 276-8359
michael_gannon@urmc.rochester.edu

Michael GiannettoMichael Giannetto
Technical Associate
michael_giannetto@urmc.rochester.edu

Ning KangNing Kang
Laboratory Technician
ning_kang@urmc.rochester.edu

Patrick KiernanPatrick Kiernan
Administrative Assistant
Patrick_Kiernan@URMC.Rochester.edu

Christina PolitoChristina Polito
Center Administrator
Phone: (585) 276-4595
christina_polito@urmc.rochester.edu

Tyler ReidTyler Reid, M.S.
IT Desktop Support/Programmer
KMRB 1-9649
Phone: (585) 273-5332
tyler_reid@urmc.rochester.edu

Wei SongWei Song
Technical Associate
wei_song@urmc.rochester.edu

Amanda SweeneyAmanda Sweeney
Technical Associate
amanda_sweeney@urmc.rochester.edu

Allison WilliamsAllison E. Williams
Technical Associate and Lab Manager
Allison_Williams1@URMC.Rochester.edu

Wei WangWei Wang
Technical Associate
wei_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Dan XueDan Xue
Graphic Designer
dan_xue@urmc.rochester.edu

Graduate Students

Humberto MestreHumberto Mestre, M.S.
NSC Ph.D. Graduate Student
humberto_mestre@urmc.rochester.edu

Vascular contributions to cognitive impairment and dementia

Research Assistants

Arokoruba Cheetham-WestArokoruba Oboba Cheetham-West
Undergraduate Student

Shinya SakuraiShinya Sakurai
Undergraduate Student