Skip to main content
Explore URMC
URMC / Medicine / About the Department


About the Department

The Department of Medicine is the largest academic and clinical department at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. We are the home of more than 400 full-time faculty and have 14 different academic divisions focused on our core missions of patient care, research, education and community outreach. In addition to our important programs throughout the Upstate New York Region, many of our faculty hold leadership positions in distinguished societies at the national and international level.

As the health care delivery and financing environment evolves, we are developing new and innovative strategies to improve our local and regional clinical programs. Academically we are launching new initiatives across our core missions. Some of our most recent outstanding accomplishments include:

  • Resident & Fellow Education:
    Our department is home to one of the most respected Internal Medicine residency programs in the country. We also have a full complement of outstanding fellowship programs all of which are consistently highly ranked at the national level.
  • Regional Referral Center:
    We are the region’s major referral hospital and are developing innovative approaches involving telehealth, electronic referral/care management and other unique approaches to providing clinical care at a distance.
  • Vaccine Biology & Development:
    The HPV vaccine which prevents the virus linked with most cases of cervical cancer, was developed in our vaccine biology program and is having a profound effect on women’s health globally.
  • Clinical Trials:
    Many of our divisions participate in national and international clinical trials addressing important health issues such as cancer, cardiovascular disease, autoimmunity and rheumatology, lung disease and aging.
  • Advances in Cardiac and Vascular Medicine Research:
    Our Cardiovascular Research Institute is one of the largest basic science programs in the nation dedicated to the study of vascular biology and myocardial injury/repair.
  • Advances in Pulmonary Care and Research:
    We are designated national sites of excellence for the care of patients with pulmonary fibrosis, lymphangioleiomyomatosis (LAM) and Pulmonary Hypertension. We are a key component of the cross departmental Lung Biology and Disease Program.

The Department of Medicine at the University of Rochester Medical Center is embracing the challenges of Health Care Reform. Our department has played a major role in providing high value health care for our patients with an emphasis on outstanding quality and stewardship of resources. The culture of our faculty and educational programs that relentlessly focus on our patient’s needs is one of the key reasons health care in the Rochester area is of the highest quality yet ranks lowest in cost nationally.

We welcome you to learn more about our department and outstanding faculty. And we look forward to serving you across our broad missions of cutting edge research, innovative education and compassionate patient care.