Skip to main content
Explore URMC
menu
URMC / Medicine / Allergy, Immunology, and Rheumatology / Patient Care / Clinical Trials and Research Studies

 

Clinical Trials and Clinical Research Studies

What is a Clinical Trial/Clinical Research?

Clinical trials test promising new medications. Medications are first developed and tested in a laboratory. In a clinical trial, doctors determine if the medication is effective in patients and if it has any side effects.

Clinical research studies are used to answer many questions about medications and other interventions used to treat illnesses.

What Are the Benefits? Are There any Risks?

Clinical trials and clinical research are carefully monitored. They are conducted by a physician and a study coordinator. All research is monitored by the FDA and by an independent review board. If a particular trial or study has any risks or benefits, you will be completely informed before you make a decision on whether or not to participate.

Do I Have to Participate?

No. Participation is completely voluntary and if you do participate, you can leave the study at any time. Also, your regular health care is unaffected by your decision.

How Do I Get Involved?

For more information about participating in a study, email AIR_Research_Info@URMC.Rochester.edu or contact the coordinator listed below.

Our Study Coordinators

Maria AllenMaria Allen, LPN, CCRC
Senior Human Subject Research Coordinator
(585) 275-7167
Fax: (585) 275-7160
Maria_Allen@urmc.rochester.edu

Julia BiehlerJulia Biehler
Human Subject Research Coordinator
(585) 275-1635
Fax: (585) 275-7160
Julia_Biehler@urmc.rochester.edu

Debbie CampbellDebbie Campbell, RN
Senior Human Subject Research Coordinator
(585) 275-1635
Fax (585) 275-7160
Debbie_Campbell@urmc.rochester.edu

Tyler CavinTyler Cavin, MPH
Senior Human Subject Research Coordinator
(585) 273-2720
Fax (585) 275-7160
Tyler_Cavin@urmc.rochester.edu

Joseph SolomonJoseph Solomon
Human Subject Research Coordinator I
(585) 275-1634
Fax: (585) 275-7160
Joseph_Solomon@URMC.Rochester.edu

Sally Thomas

Sally Thomas, LPN, CCRC, ACRP-PM
Senior Human Subject Research Coordinator
(585) 273-1725
Fax: (585) 275-7160
Sally_Thomas@urmc.rochester.edu

Nicole Turner

Nichole Turner
Senior Human Subject Research Coordinator
(585) 275-1035
Fax: (585) 275-7160
Nichole_Turner@urmc.rochester.edu