Skip to main content
Explore URMC


URMC / Microbiology & Immunology / Research / Rochester Vaccine Postdoctoral Fellowship

Rochester Vaccine Postdoctoral Fellowship

The Rochester Vaccine Fellowship is awarded annually to an outstanding postdoctoral fellow working in the area of vaccine-related research, who is mentored by a faculty member with a primary or secondary appointment in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

This fund was created by a donation from Dr. Michael Pichichero in honor of Dr. Porter Anderson (Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics in Infectious Diseases), who co-invented the widely administered vaccine for bacterial meningitis.

Applications are requested and should consist of:

  • A brief (1 page or less) statement of research
  • CV of the applicant fellow
  • Short letter of support from the advisor

Approximately $5000 per year is available and can be used to support research supplies and/or travel to present at national and international scientific meetings or symposia. Salaries are not supported. Successful applications will emphasize vaccine-related research.  This is a one-year, non-renewable award.

Fellowship Awardees


Aitor Gonzales, Laboratory of Dr. Luis Martinez-Sobrido
Milan Popovic, Laboratory of Dr. Minsoo Kim


Leon Grayfer, Ph.D., Laboratory of Jacques Robert
Emilio Ortiz-Riaño, Ph.D., Laboratory of Luis Martinez-Sobrido


Eva-Stina Edholm, Ph.D., Laboratory of Jacques Robert


Raychel Chambers Stone, Ph.D., Laboratory of Toru Takimoto