Skip to main content
Explore URMC




20182017201620152014 Archive

Bidlack Receives NIH Grant For Opioid Addiction Research

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

A groundbreaking treatment for opioid addiction could come from local research. Monday, Congresswoman Louise Slaughter announced a $200,000 award from the NIH to a University of Rochester lab that is studying a possible new treatment for addiction.

Dr. Jean Bidlack of the University of Rochester Medical Center is involved in the research. “What I’m looking at is a hormone that has been shown in animals to reduce both the preference for sweets and alcohol by decreasing dopamine levels,” Dr. Bidlack explained. The money for the research of part of the federal budget approved last week.

The actual award is for 2 years, totaling of $385,000.

Congratulations Dr. Bidlack!