Skip to main content
Explore URMC


Awards and Recognition

URSMD Diversity Awards

It is our pleasure to announce our annual call for nominations for the URSMD Faculty Diversity Award. The award was established in 2013 to recognize the exceptional contributions and accomplishments of SMD faculty whose efforts foster a diverse and inclusive medical school community. We are also especially excited to announce the addition of a NEW URSMD Trainee Diversity Award to recognize the exceptional efforts of SMD trainees in contributing to the diversity, inclusion and equity efforts of SMD.

2019 URSMD Faculty Diversity Award Recipient

Adrienne MorganAdrienne L. Morgan, Ph.D. (She, Her, Hers)
Assistant Dean for Medical Education Diversity and Inclusion
Senior Director


Past recipients have included:

  • Timothy D. Dye, PhD., Associate Chair, Research - Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Professor - Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Department of Public Health Sciences, Department of Pediatrics. 
  • Catherine Cerulli, JD, PhD (2017)
    Professor - Department of Psychiatry
  • Diane S. Morse, MD (2016)
    Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Medicine
    Director, Women's Initiative Supporting Health (WISH)
  • Brenda D. Lee, MEd (2015)
    Assistant Dean for Medical Education and Student Affairs
    Assistant Professor, Medical Humanities and Bioethics
  • Nancy Chin, PhD, MPH (2014)
    Associate Professor of Public Health Sciences, and Medical Humanities and Bioethics
  • Kevin A. Fiscella, MD, MPH (2013)
    Professor of Family Medicine
  • Jonathan W. Mink, MD, PhD (2013)
    Professor of Neurology, Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Pediatrics

University of Rochester Presidential Diversity Award

The University of Rochester Presidential Diversity Award recognizes faculty, staff, students, units, departments, or other functional teams of the university or graduates of the university that contribute to diversity and inclusion through exemplary leadership.

2020 recipients for the U of R Presidential Diversity Award first is Caroline Nestro `18W (PhD) , a Senior Associate and Director of Diversity, Inclusion, and Cultural Engagement in the Department of Psychiatry as well as the director of the department’s Office of Mental Health Promotion. The second winner is Kit Miller, Director of the MK Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence, are the recipients of the 2020 Presidential Diversity Award.

Recent recipients from the University of Rochester Medical Center have included Myra Henry, Senior Director of Administrative Services (2019), Commission on Women & Gender Equity in Academia (2019), Jonathan Wetherbee, Administrator, SON (2018), Gina Culyer, MD (2017), Kathy Rideout, EdD, PNP-BC, FNAP, John P Cullen, PhD (2014), Lynn Maquat, PhD (2013), and the URMC Teen Health and Success Program led by Suzanne Piotrowski, MD (2013).

Black Physicians Gala Awards

Francis J. Clement Black Physicians Network Scholarship - Dr. Adrienne Morgan
Making A Difference Award, Physician - Dr. Ruby Belton
Making A Difference Award, Community Member - Mr. Francis J. Clement, CFP
Emergency Funding Scholarship - Treyc Terry