Skip to main content
AUA 2024 Group Photo
URMC / Urology / Events & News / AUA2024


At AUA 2023

A Message from Dr. Jean Joseph, Chairman, Department of Urology

Our department had a successful AUA meeting in San Antonio, thanks to the hard work of all of our team members. From our most senior to the most junior faculty members, medical students, and Advanced Practice Providers, we had a record number of contributions. Our various presentations addressing a broad range of research topics was a record for our department, placing us among the top contributors at the American Urological Association meeting.

Several of our team members received the "Best Paper" award for their basic or clinical research presentations. Our chief Resident, Dr. Ellis, won the resident debate. Our team overall, received numerous accolades. On the administrative side, Dr. Rabinowitz completed his term as AUA Historian, where he contributed to several AUA exhibits, including the most recent one "Onward and Upward, Celebrating black Urologists in America". As Dr. Edward Messing completed his year as past president, our residency and medical school Alumnus, Dr. Steve Nakada begins his term as president.

We are excited to carry forward this momentum, which is a testament to our ongoing commitment to advancing Urology through research and discovery. Our department is in the midst of a strategic planning process, where these are serving as our main compass. We look forward to your continued engagement in our pursuit of excellence in research, education, patient care, and community engagement in the spirit of Meliora.

Follow Us On Twitter | Support URMC Urology

Alumni & Friends Reception

Thanks to all who joined us at our reception and we look forward to staying in touch. Check out the photos from the event.


Elizabeth Ellis Holding Trophy with AwardElizabeth Ellis, M.D., M.S., 2024 Great Debate Winner

Elizabeth Ellis, M.D., M.S., PGY-6 Resident won the 2024 Great Debate in the Resident Bowl on her topic of: Transurethral Resection of Ejaculation Ducts (TURED) for First Line Management of Obstructive Azoospermia.

Scott Quarrier Holding a Plaque Next to a Congratulatory BannerScott Quarrier, M.D., M.P.H., Wins Young Urologist of the Year

Scott Quarrier, M.D., M.P.H., won AUA’s 2024 "Young Urologist of the Year."

Victor Sandoval Holding a Ribbon Next to His PosterVictor Sandoval, M.D., Mc.S. Wins Best Poster

Victor Sandoval, M.D., Mc.S., (Urology Fellow) won "Best Poster" for his poster on: Oncological Outcomes For T1 Small Renal Cell Carcinoma After Partial Nephrectomy Is Not Significantly Associated With Histopathological Subtype: A 20-Year Retrospective Follow Up From One Single Institution.

M.D. Mahmudul Hasan Akash Standing Next to His PosterM.D. Mahmudul Hasan Akash Wins Best Poster

M.D. Mahmudul Hasan Akash (PhD Researcher in Dr. Yi-Fen Lee’s Lab) won "Best Poster" for his poster on: Neutrophil-Derived Extracellular Vesicles Function As Mediators Of Inflammation And Bladder Toxicities In Prostate Cancer Patients Undergoing Radiotherapy.


Ronald Rabinowitz Under a #AUACENSUS Sign
Ronald Rabinowitz, M.D., FACS completed his 11th and final year as AUA Historian

Edward Messing
Edward Messing, M.D., FACS completed his term as a Board of Director Member, serving his role as Immediate Past President of AUA

2024 AUA Leadership Class Group Photo
Jimena Cubillos graduated from 2024 AUA Leadership Class

Educational Events - AUA Learning Lab
URMC Urology Department participated in 48 educational events!