Skip to main content
Explore URMC
URMC / Medicine / Allergy, Immunology, and Rheumatology

Allergy, Immunology, and Rheumatology

  • Nelson Huertas in the Ritchlin Laboratory
  • AIR Fellows
  • Drs. Korman and Lieberman assist patient
  • AMP Research Team
  • Conference

Welcome from the Interim Chief

Jennifer Anolik, MD, PhDWelcome to the Division of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology (AIR). This Division has a long history of providing excellence in patient care, medical research, and education that dates back to the 1950’s. Our current faculty and staff are not only committed to carrying on this tradition but are also recognized nationally as leaders in their field.

We provide timely, comprehensive, individualized, state-of-the-art medical care to patients with musculoskeletal, autoimmune, and allergic diseases. We act as advocates for our patients and seek to improve treatments outcomes and quality of life.

Our faculty perform cutting edge investigation in basic science and translational research as we seek to expand our understanding of the mechanisms that underlie inflammatory, allergic and autoimmune disorders, with the goal of developing more effective and less toxic treatments.

We are also committed to educating the next generation of Allergists/Immunologists and Rheumatologists. Being a combined division with close ties to Pediatrics as well as many other Departments in the Medical Center including Orthopedics, Dermatology and others offers our fellows numerous unique opportunities.

Jennifer Anolik, M.D., Ph.D.
Interim Division Chief
Associate Chair of Research, Department of Medicine

Make an Appointment

Allergy & Immunology: (585) 486-0930

Rheumatology: (585) 486-0901


We now offer self-scheduling for follow-up appointments through MyChart, our online patient portal!

Upcoming Speakers and Events

AIR Grand Rounds

“Update on Sjögren's syndrome”

Alan Baer, MD
Professor of Medicine Director, Jerome Greene Sjogren’s Syndrome Clinic
Johns Hopkins Medical Center

June 1, 2023

AIR Grand Rounds

“CAR-T Cell Therapy in Autoimmune Disease”

Prof. Dr. Georg Schett
Vice President Research
Chair of Internal Medicine III
FAU - Friedrich Alexander Unversität, Erlangen-Nurnberg, Germany

June 22, 2023

AIR/DERM Grand Rounds

Johann Gudjonsson, MD, PhD
Professor, Dermatology and the Arthur C. Curtis Professor of Skin Molecular Immunology
University of Michigan

June 29, 2023

Accelerating Medicine Partnerships Autoimmune & Immune-Mediated Disease Program

Division of Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology researchers join NIH's Accelerating Medicines Partnership Autoimmune and Immune-Mediated Diseases (AMP AIM) Program, a 5-year $58.5 million initiative to target new therapies for rheumatoid arthritis and psoriatic disease. Dr. Anolik will serve as principal lead for the RA team, while Dr. Ritchilin will lead the psoriasis/psoriatic arthritis team.

World Allergy Organization Center of Excellence

The University of Rochester is a World Allergy Center of Excellence, whose purpose is to intensify and accelerate multi-disciplinary scientific and clinical innovation, education, and advocacy worldwide, providing excellence in education, research, and training in Allergy, Asthma and Clinical Immunology.

The John Leddy Fellowship Research Grants Established and 2023 Grants Awarded

Katherine Herman, MD and Karen Kruzer, MD

Katherine Herman, MD and
Karen Kruzer, MD

John Leddy, MD

John Leddy, MD

John Leddy, MD was Division of Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology Chief for 26 years from 1970 to 1996. He was an extraordinary teacher, scholar, researcher, and compassionate clinician who exemplified all the best traits of an academic physician. His love for immunology and the understanding of disease was contagious. For his contributions to the Division and the Medical School, the John Leddy Fellows Research Grants program was established. Grants are intended to foster research by fellows in Allergy, Immunology, or Rheumatology. The 2023 awardees are Katherine Herman, MD, PhD and Karen Kruzer, MD.