Skip to main content
Explore URMC


URMC / Medicine / Geriatrics & Aging / News & Events


News & Events

Division News

2017 Geriatrics Faculty Scholars - 4 Awardees

The Division of Geriatrics & Aging is pleased to announce the 2017 Geriatric Faculty Scholars recipients. The Geriatric Faculty Scholars Program is funded by the HRSA Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program (GWEP) grant. Each Scholar recieves a stipend to support a project, attendance at a national geriatric conference, and disseminiation of educational products.  This year's recipients are:

Carolanne Bianchi, DNP, RN, MBA, ANP-BC, CRRN

Acute care experience, as well as a clinical and education background, has prepared Dr. Bianchi to identify that lack of mobility leads to functional decline in hospitalized elders.  As faculty in the School of Nursing, Dr. Bianchi’s Geriatric Faculty Scholars project is to identify barriers to successfully implementing a Standard of Practice protocol to encourage activity and walking in hospitalized patients.  This project would create a setting where clinical practice guidelines could be adopted to prevent unnecessary functional decline in geriatric patients.

Ron Maggiore, MD

As a new faculty at the URMC, Dr. Maggiore will focus on creating a more robust collaboration between geriatrics and oncology.  His Geriatric Faculty Scholars project will include and expansion of the geriatric assessment into cancer care delivery, and to build a geriatric oncology curriculum for trainees, providers and non-providers.  Dr. Maggiore will collaborate with current faculty members to carry out these initiatives and expand to other institutions.

Ahmad Manasra, MD

A hospitalist at Strong Memorial Hospital since 2011, Dr. Manasra has been engaged in efforts of the Geriatric Fracture Center.  His focus for the Geriatric Faculty Scholars project will be the perioperative optimization of geriatric patients, and then dissemination of this new approach to his colleagues.  Dr. Manasra hopes this information will lead to standardization of consultation, fewer delays in surgery, and improved communication and teamwork from all providers.

Fahad Saeed, MD

Personal experience led to his interest in palliative care; a Fellowship in Palliative Care led him to the University of Rochester in 2015.  As faculty at Strong Memorial Hospital, Dr. Saeed seeks to focus the Geriatric Faculty Scholars Project on chronic kidney disease in the geriatric population, identify gaps in knowledge, and develop educational interventions to bridge these gaps.

The Geriatric Faculty Scholars Program is open to junior and mid-career faculty from the School of Nursing and School of Medicine & Dentistry with an interest in gerontology and geriatric medicine who wish to spearhead program development through geriatric education within their School, Program, Division, and/or Department. The Geriatric Faculty Scholars Program will enhance the Scholars’ teaching and leadership skills and facilitate their career development as academic leaders with a clinical, educational, and/or research niche in geriatrics and gerontology.

For more information, contact Laura M Robinson at (585) 760-6380 or via email at

Three Faculty Recognized with Karron Award

Timothy J. Holahan, D.O., who serves as the medical director or associate medical director at four nursing homes in the Rochester region; Adina C. Jucan, D.D.S., Director of Dental Services at Highland Hospital; and Allison Magnuson, D.O., geriatric oncologist, were awarded the Elaine and Irwin Karron Memorial Prize for Excellence in Geriatrics given by the Division of Geriatrics and Aging. This prize is awarded annually to a faculty member who completed at least two years of geriatric fellowship training at the University of Rochester and who has demonstrated exceptional skill, commitment and compassion in caring for older adult patients.

Medina-Walpole Receives 2016 Jahnigen Public Service Award for Geriatrics Work

Annette Medina-Walpole, MD (right) wins Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Education Award.  Bill Hall, MD (left) is previous recipient.

William Hall, MD (left), previous award recipient, and Annette Medina-Walpole, MD (right), this year's recipient

Annette Medina-Walpole, M.D. was honored with the 2016 Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Public Service Award at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the American Geriatric Society. The Jahnigen Award recognizes one American Geriatrics Society (AGS) member annually who is committed to the goals of its namesake: Working with students and advancing geriatrics education. Walpole is a leader in URMC’s ambitious program to make geriatrics an integral part of the whole medical curriculum, and thanks to her, aging is one of six underlying themes for the medical student community. She has served as URMC’s Geriatric Medicine Fellowship director and currently co-directs the Dean’s Teaching Fellowship.

Three Faculty Elected Fellows of the American Geriatric Society

Thomas V. Caprio, M.D.; Krupa Shah, M.D., M.P.H.; and Kristen L. Thornton, M.D. were recognized at the May 2016 annual meeting of the American Geriatrics Society in Long Beach, CA. Fellowships are awarded AGS members who demonstrate a professional commitment to geriatrics, contribute to the progress of geriatrics care and participate in the Society's activities. They join a specially recognized group of health care providers dedicated to geriatrics education, clinical care and research, as well as to their own continuing professional development. Fellows have distinguished themselves among their colleagues, as well as in their communities and in the Society by their service.

Medina-Walpole Joins URMC's Roster of ELAM Fellows

Annette Medina-Walpole, M.D. is the latest URMC faculty member selected for the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program. The intensive, one-year fellowship focuses on leadership training, with extensive coaching, networking and mentoring opportunities. The goal is to expand the pool of women qualified for leadership positions in academic medicine, dentistry and public health.

About 54 candidates are chosen for ELAM each year through a competitive selection process. ELAM is a core program at Drexel University’s International Center for Executive Leadership in Academics in Philadelphia.

Mendelson honored with William and Sheila Konar Family Professorship

Dr. Daniel Ari Mendelson was recently honored with the William and Sheila Konar Family Professorship.   The Konar Professorship was created to enhance patient-centered care, especially for the older and medically complex patients.  As a recipient, Dr. Mendelson will work to improve the health of the geriatric population and the patient experience through medical provider education, utilization of advances in information technology, the establishment of dashboards and metrics, a redesign of care delivery systems, and effective role modeling.

It is an incredible honor to be the first recipient of this prestigious professorship, and we are very proud to have Dr. Mendelson as an integral member of the Division of Geriatrics.

More news from the Press Room