Skip to main content
URMC / EHSC / Diversity and Inclusion


Diversity and Inclusion in Environmental Medicine

We are committed to creating and celebrating an inclusive work and learning environment that is diverse and culturally rich. We believe that individuals of differing backgrounds, nationalities, colors, sexes, races, religions, sexual orientations, gender identities or expressions, abilities, and other unique identifiers contribute knowledge and perspectives that are essential to our individual and collective successes. We strive to create an environment that supports and values different points of view, as diversity is pivotal to groundbreaking research and life-long learning. Because our work provides insight into how the environment affects health, we aim to inform environmental public health improvement, particularly for vulnerable communities. We will keep striving to be ever better, together.

A Diversity and Inclusion Working Group was formed in June 2020 with the goal of getting input, exploring options, and making recommendations for how our Department and EHS Center can promote a more inclusive environment for all.  Please contact any of us with your input and ideas!  We will update this website as our work progresses.

ICARE, which stands for Integrity, Inclusion, Compassion, Accountability, Respect and Excellence, and is the foundation for how we treat people at the UR Medical Center

Diversity and Inclusion Resources

Working Group Members

Katrina Korfmacher

Katrina Korfmacher, Ph.D., Working Group Chair

Associate Professor of Environmental Medicine

Director, Community Engagement Core (CEC)


Cait Fallone,

Cait Fallone, M.A.

Program Manager, Community Engagement Core (CEC)


Tyler Bell

Tyler Bell

Toxicology Ph.D. Student


Anthony Franchini, Ph.D.

Anthony Franchini, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist


Connor McGuire

Connor McGuire

Toxicology Ph.D. Student


Thivanka Muthumalage

Thivanka M. Muthumalage, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Marissa Sobolewski

Marissa Sobolewski, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Environmental Medicine


Elizabeth Williams-Velasquez,

Elizabeth Williams-Velasquez, M.A.

Toxicology PhD Program Coordinator

Past Working Group Members

Kadijah Abston

Kadijah Abston, M.S.

Toxicology Ph.D. Student


Jakob Gunderson

Jakob Gunderson, M.S.

Toxicology Ph.D. Student

Jasmine Reed

Jasmine Reed, M.S.

Toxicology Ph.D. Student