Skip to main content
Explore URMC

URMC / Pharmacy / Residency Program / Awards & Research

Awards & Research


Quality of Research

“Research opportunities… and the quality of presentations from URMC to those of other area programs - there was a discernible difference in quality of research… past residents spoke highly of the institution.”

- Faisal M.
Class of 2017-2019

Delivering on Meliora

American College of Clinical Pharmacy

2017 Annual Meeting. Best Poster Finalist.
Zaeem M, Porter B, Delibert S, Jones CMC, Acquisto NM.  Evaluation of outcomes in patients with ICH receiving 4F-PCC:  a comparison of patients with and without ICH trial exclusion criteria)

2016 ACCP Emergency Medicine PRN. Outstanding Paper of the Year. Vollman KE, Adams CB, Shah MN, Acquisto NM.  Survey of Emergency Medicine Pharmacy Education Opportunities for Students and Residents. Hosp Pharm 2015;50:690-9.

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

2018 Best Practices Award. 
Pharmacists Led Emergency Department Opioid Task Force: 50% Reduction in Overall Use. Nicole Acquisto, Pharm.D., F.C.C.P., B.C.C.C.P.; Rachel Schult, Pharm.D., D.A.B.A.T.

2013 Literature Award – Pharmacy Practice Research Award.
Patanwala AE, Sanders AB, Thomas MC, Acquisto NM, et al.  A prospective multicenter study of the methods of medication error interception by emergency department pharmacists. Ann Emerg Med 2012;59:369-373.

2013 Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards – New Preceptor Award.
Recipient: Acquisto NM.

2013 Pharmacy Resident Practice-Based Research Grant.
C Adams, K Vollman, NM Acquisto (Faculty PI). Survey of Emergency   Medicine Pharmacy Education Opportunities for Students and Residents ($5,000).

2009 Pharmacy Resident Practice-Based Research Grant.
S Baker, NM Acquisto (Faculty PI). Evaluation of Emergency Pharmacist Services on Antimicrobial Stewardship for Ambulatory Patients Discharged from the Emergency Department ($5,000).

2008 Best Practices Award.
Pharmacists Enhancing the Time to Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory and Patient Safety During Acute Myocardial Infarction Presentation to the Emergency Department. Nicole Acquisto, Pharm.D.; Daniel Hays, Pharm.D., BCPS; Rolin Fairbanks, M.D., M.S.; Manish Shaw, M.D.; Joseph Delehanty, M.D.; Flavia Nobay, M.D.; Curtis Haas, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS.

2007 Pharmacy Resident Practice-Based Research Grant.
NM Acquisto (Resident PI). The Outcomes of Emergency Pharmacist Participation during Acute Myocardial Infarction ($5,000).

2005 Best Practices Award.
Pharmacists Enhancing Patient Safety During Trauma Resuscitations. Sarah Kelly-Pisciotti, Pharm.D.; Daniel Hays, Pharm.D., BCPS; Thomas O'Brien, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP; Mark Gestring, M.D., FACS; Rollin Fairbanks, M.D., M.S.; and Matthew Metz, M.D.

2003 Best Practices Award.
Establishment of an Ambulatory Pharmacy in a Community Mental Health Center. Thomas E. O'Brien, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP; Kumar Maharj, MSBA, BCPP, FASCP; David Olsen, Ph.D., R.Ph.

University of Rochester

2017 Team Excellence Awards. Sepsis Improvement Team.

2015 Team Excellence Awards. Adult Code Team & Rapid Response Team.