Skip to main content
Explore URMC


Core Faculty

Kristin Koberstein, MA, LMFTKristin Koberstein, MA, LMFT
Faculty Associated, Doctoral Candidate, Warner School, University of Rochester
AAMFT Approved Supervisor

Major Interests: medical family therapy, clinical supervision, collaboration between primary care and mental health, refugee care, and postpartum adjustment for families.

Jessica Moore, Ph.D.Jessica A. Moore, PhD
Clinical Director, Strong Family Therapy Services
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Pediatrics

Major Interests: pediatric family psychology, medical family therapy, chronic illness, developmental and behavioral needs, parenting, and advocacy. Teaching, clinical work, and research interests focused on collaboration and integrated care.

Jenny Speice, PhD, LMFTJenny Speice, PhD
Director, MS MFT Program
Co-Director: Family Therapy Training Program,
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
AAMFT Approved Supervisor

Major Interests: families and health, particularly related to genetic concerns and infertility/fertility treatments; grief and loss; ethics and professional practice.

Program Faculty


Jessica Goodman, PhD, LMFT
Clinical Senior Instructor, Department of Psychiatry
AAMFT Approved Supervisor

Major Interests: Medical family therapy, integrated behavioral healthcare, narrative-informed medical family therapy, social and political advocacy in family therapy, emergency department utilization, relational healthcare utilization decision-making, translational research using machine learning, healthcare provider burnout prevention, medical residency education and coaching

Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, LMFTSusan H McDaniel
Dr. Laurie Sands Distinguished Professor of Families & Health
Director, Institute for the Family, Department of Psychiatry
Vice Chair, Department of Family Medicine

Major Interests: medical family therapy, integrated primary and specialty care, healthcare teams and collaboration, inter-professional education, reproductive technologies, genetic testing, unexplained medical symptoms, physician-patient communication, and communication coaching for physician and other health professionals.

Carol Podgorski, PhD, MPH, LMFT Carol Podgorski, PhD, MPH, MS
Co-Director: Family Therapy Training Program
Professor of Psychiatry
Associate Chair of Faculty Affairs, Department of Psychiatry

Major Interests: family therapy in dementia and long term care, academic-community partnerships, and evidence-informed program development, advocacy for MFT profession.

Tziporah Rosenberg, PhD, LMFTTziporah E. Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Associate Chair of Education, Department of Psychiatry

Major Interests: medical family therapy, models of collaborative and integrative healthcare, couple and family therapy training and education, outcome-based education and assessment, effects of illness and health on family relationships.

Michelle Swanger-Gagne, PhD, NCSPMichelle Swanger-Gagne, PhD, NCSP
Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Major Interests: family engagement in children’s education and healthcare, Family-School-Community Partnerships, Pediatric Collaborative and Integrative Care, School and Healthcare Consultation, Specific clinical interests include pediatric pain, chronic health conditions in children/youth, and children/youth with behavioral concerns and school challenges.

Traci Terrance, PhD, LCSWTTerrance
Senior Instructor of Psychiatry and Family Medicine
Co-Instructor, MS MFT Program
Major Interests: cultural humility; development integrated clinical training; integrate care and community engagement; dismantling structural racism and oppression; narrative therapy. 

Community Faculty

Maisha Enaharo, MPH, MSKim Linde, MS, LMFT
Clinical Associate in Psychiatry
Co-instructor, MS MFT Program

Major Interests: trainings/group facilitation: internalized racism; structural/systemic racism; intersectionality of identities, leadership coaching, effective black parenting

Additional Program Clinical Staff, Supervisors
and Supervisor Candidates
Aluko, Shanice

Shanice Aluko, MS, MFT
Marriage and Family Therapist
AAMFT Supervisor in Training

Major Interests: couple/marital and family therapy, faith/spirituality and psychotherapy, medical family therapy, Black/African American family issues and parenting, children/youth with behavioral concerns, and collaboration between primary care, mental health, and faith based organizations

Jamie Carr, MS, LMFTJamie Carr
Marriage and Family Therapist
Co-Instructor, MS MFT Program

Major interests: women’s health, trauma, marital and couple therapy, parenting, positive reinforcement, and self-care.

Kristin D'AmicoKristin D'Amico MS, LMFT 
Marriage and Family Therapist 
Major interests: Integrated healthcare, parent-child interactions, particularly in the context of ACES, infant mental health and attachment 

Tonya Girard, MS, LMFTTonya Girard
Senior Marriage and Family Therapist
AMFT Approved Supervisor 
Course Instructor, MS MFT Program 

Major Interests: medical family therapy, collaborative/integrated health practice, trauma informed care and treatment, mind-body integration, women’s and LGBTQIA+ health.

Chinh HuyuhChinh Huynh, MS, LMFT 
Marriage and Family Therapist 
AAMFT Supervisor in Training in Family Therapy Services 

Major interests: intimate partner violence, intergenerational trauma and abuse, self-of-the-therapist, diverse and inclusive workplace 

Ben SchwabeBenjamin Schwabe, M.S. LMFT 
Marriage and Family Therapist 
Major interests: Narrative, postmodern and psychodynamic therapies, anti-racist and equitable clinical practice, prison abolition and decarceration, religious and spiritual concerns in psychotherapy.

Siyi YangSiyi Yang, MS, MFT 
Marriage and Family Therapist 
Major Interests: Couple/marital and family therapy, infidelity, family structure/boundary issues within family system and couple, self-care, multicultural counseling, and collaboration between primary care and mental health. 

Rachael Zoller, MS, LMFTRachael Zoller
Senior Marriage and Family Therapist
AAMFT Approved Supervisor 

Major interests: women’s health, couple/marital/family therapy, Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT), individual and family therapy with adolescents, clinical supervision.

Back to top