Skip to main content
URMC / Psychiatry / Our Divisions


Our Divisions

Welcome to the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Rochester Medical Center. Our multi-disciplinary, collaborative team of more than one thousand faculty and staff members are committed to advancing our core missions of clinical care, community service, research and education.

Our distinguished history is highlighted by psychiatry icons including Dr. George Engel and Dr. John Romano who, three-quarters of a century ago, developed their groundbreaking Biopsychosocial Model. Their pioneering vision considers biological, psychological and social factors and their complex interactions in understanding health, illness and care delivery. To this day, it serves as the cornerstone of education and training of physicians throughout the country and, subsequently, the way care is delivered to millions of patients and their families.

Through renowned inpatient and outpatient clinical services, internationally recognized research, and some of the top physician fellowship programs in the nation, the mission of our rapidly expanding divisions is to champion integrated, multidisciplinary care to enhance cognitive health, mental health and well-being for a broad range of patients of all ages.

75th anniversary logo

Department of Psychiatry Divisions:

Acute and Adult Psychiatry

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Collaborative Care and Wellness

Community Psychiatry

Geriatric Mental Health and Memory Care

Medicine in Psychiatry Services