Skip to main content

Annual CMSR Symposium

The Annual Center for Musculoskeletal Research (CMSR) Symposium is a special event held over the course of an entire day each year at the University of Rochester Medical Center (URMC). The Symposium is designed to not only showcase the current year's musculoskeletal research, but also provide a platform for trainees to present their data and interact with scientists throughout the URMC community and visiting scientists from other institutions. The events that take place during the Symposium include: a poster session for all trainees in the Center as well as trainees outside the Center performing musculoskeletal research, two plenary speaker sessions with five trainee presentations, three faculty presentations, and a visiting keynote speaker presentation. Three trainee travel awards are presented to two pre-doctoral and one post-doctoral candidates. Following the Symposium, the CMSR has a social event to celebrate the accomplishments of all of our trainees. The Annual CMSR Symposium is supported in part by our NIH T32 Training Grant (AR053459).


2023 Symposium FlyerThirteenth Annual | Symposium Booklet
October 26, 2023

CMSR Symposium 2022 ThumbTwelfth Annual  | Symposium Booklet
October 19, 2022


Eleventh Annual | Symposium Booklet
October 27, 2021

Tenth Annual I Symposium page 
November 18, 2020


Ninth Annual
September 26, 2019

Eighth Annual
October 24, 2018

Seventh Annual 

July 27 & 28, 2017

Seventh Annual - Save the Date

July 27 & 28, 2017

Sixth Annual

September 28, 2016

Sixth Annual - Save the Date, Call for Abstracts
September 28, 2016

Fifth Annual
September 23, 2015

Fourth Annual
September 10, 2014

Third Annual
September 18, 2013

Second Annual
September 12, 2012

First Annual
July 15, 2011

2019 Rosier Award Recipients and their Faculty Advisors (from left to right): John Bachman (Predoctoral Finalist), Chao Xie, MD, Yugo Morita, PhD (Postdoctoral Finalist), Shiyang Zhang, PhD (Postdoctoral Finalist), Hani Awad, PhD, Elysia Masters (Predoctoral Award Winner), Edward Schwarz, PhD, Alayna Loiselle, PhD, Katherine Best (Predoctoral Award Winner), Anne Nichols, PhD (Distinguished Poster Award Winner), Yiming Li, PhD (Postdoctoral Award Winner), Clyde Overby (Distinguished Poster Award Winner), Lindsay Piraino (Predoctoral Finalist), Danielle Benoit, PhD, Jessica Ackerman (Distinguished Poster Finalist), Zhuang Zhou, PhD (Distinguished Poster Finalist), Xinping Zhang, MD, PhD, Kevin Schilling (Predoctoral Finalist) 
Not pictured: Keshia Mora (Distinguished Poster Finalist), Christine Massie (Distinguished Poster Finalist), Yuko Kawano, PhD (Distinguished Poster Award Winner), Jinbo Li (Predoctoral Finalist), Joe Chakkalakal, PhD, Brendan Boyce, MD, Lisa Delouise, PhD, Edward Brown, PhD


2019 CMSR Annual Symposium