Skip to main content

About Us

In July 2020, the Department of Microbiology and the Center for Vaccine Biology and Immunology joined together and developed a group of individuals in a Diversity and Inclusion Council. The membership on the committee includes representation from graduate students, postdoctoral associates, faculty, and staff. The group meets monthly to discuss ongoing initiatives across the university, and to identify opportunities within our shared spaces to reinforce and support the values of inclusion and diversity. We envision our DEI Council initiatives to have a broad impact that reflects the multitude of departments, centers and programs in which our personnel can be found:

Council Members

Daisy Bird GeerDaisy Bird Geer
Administrator II
MBI Diversity and Inclusion Officer

Emily BillottiEmily Billotti
Administrator II
CVBI Diversity and Inclusion Officer

Minsoo KimMinsoo Kim, Ph.D.

Brenda KnorrBrenda Knorr
Graduate Program Administrator

Ferralita MadereFerralita Madere
MBI Ph.D. Student, Monaco Lab

Briaunna MinorBriaunna Minor
MBI M.D./Ph.D. Student, Hammes Lab

Cassie NewkirkCassie Newkirk
Technical Associate I, Monaco Lab

Matthieu PaiolaMatthieu Paiola, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate, Robert Lab

Ruth Serra-MorenoRuth Serra-Moreno, Ph.D.
Associate Professor