Skip to main content
Explore URMC
Education / Graduate Education / Summer Scholars Program / Welcome 2022 Summer Scholars


Welcome 2022 Summer Scholars

URMC Diversity Award winners - 2021

The School of Medicine and Dentistry is excited to welcome the next group of Summer Scholars for 2022! The 27 incoming students make up the largest cohort on record. This year’s group includes students from seven different states, as well as Puerto Rico, representing 15 different universities.

Over the course of the 10 weeks, trainees participate in research/educational seminars and presentations on graduate school and careers, as well as construct a poster outlining their research.

They also get the chance to visit Rochester-area attractions and enjoy various social activities for the chance to interact with graduate students and other summer trainees.

Here’s the full list of incoming students:



Institution From

Addae Owusu, Nana Wiafe*

Kuan Wang

CUNY Borough Of Manhattan Community College

Alvarez, Carolina

Hani Awad and James McGrath

Mount Holyoke College

Auguste, Matthew Nathanael

Peng Yao

University Of Rochester

Barry, Alivya (Liv)*

Karl Rosengren

CUNY Borough Of Manhattan Community College

Brown, JaNýa Darionna

John Lueck

York College Pennsylvania

Chakraborty, Yashoswini

Eric Small


DiMartino, Daniel Charles

Ben Miller

Rochester Institute Of Technology

France (France), Cheko Ghenet*

Ed Lalor

City College Ny

Gharabi, Ameneh

Benjamin Korman

University Of California-Berkeley

Heinig, Shannon

Eric Wagner

Saint Bonaventure University

Inoa Santana, Vielka

Elise Piazza

CUNY City College

Li, Chen*

Ian Fiebelkorn

CUNY City College

Morales, Gabrielle Elis

Paul Dunman

Roberts Wesleyan College

Mrittika, Aahir

Brian Altman

Bennington College

Nguyen, Tiffany

Jinjiang Pang


Ogunyemi, Samuel*

Mark Buckley

CUNY City College

Omilabu, Victor

John Foxe

The City College of New York

Pollack (Blackwood), Evian*

Paul Kammermeier

CUNY Borough Of Manhattan Community College

Reynoso, Jose Gabriel*

Duje Tadin

CUNY City College

Rondon, Jahdiel*

Benjamin Suarez-Jimenez

CUNY Borough Of Manhattan Community College

Rosario (Rivera), Jesús Manuel

Minsoo Kim

University Of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras Campus

Sevilla Lopez, Kaylin Julianne*

Julian Meeks

CUNY City College

Summers (Summers), Austin

Danielle Benoit

Duquesne University

Van Lee, Brian

Craig Morrell

Rice University

Vazquez (Custodio), Adriana Isabel

Jin Xiao

University Of Puerto Rico-Arecibo Campus

Vines, Sophia Stephanie

Isaac Harris

Bryn Mawr College

Ynoa, Chantel*

Manuel Gomez-Ramirez

CUNY City College

*These students are part of the NEUROCITY Summer Program. NEUROCITY is a program run by the Del Monte Institute for Neuroscience Diversity Commission under the umbrella of Summer Scholars. It is designed to encourage students historically excluded from STEM fields to explore and experience the field of neuroscience.