Skip to main content

SMD Logo

Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Photo of Jennifer Anolik

Jennifer Anolik, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
jennifer_anolik@urmc.rochester.edu

Anolik Lab

Role of B Cells in the Pathophysiology of Systemic Lupus and Related Autoimmune Diseases

Photo of J. Butler

J. Scott Butler, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
scott_butler@urmc.rochester.edu

Butler Lab

Regulation of Gene Expression by Targeted Degradation of RNA

Photo of Stephen Dewhurst

Stephen Dewhurst, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
stephen_dewhurst@urmc.rochester.edu

Dewhurst Lab

Influenza Viruses; Virus Polymerase HIV Vaccine Development; NeuroAIDS Research

Photo of Paul Dunman

Paul Dunman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
paul_dunman@urmc.rochester.edu

Dunman Lab

Antimicrobial drug discovery using pathogenic Staphylococcus aureus and Acinetobacter baumannii: exploiting components of the bacterial RNA metabolism machinery; characterizing prokaryotic ribonucleases; understanding the impact of the host environment on antibiotic resistance and virulence factor expression.

Photo of Michelle Dziejman

Michelle Dziejman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
michelle_dziejman@urmc.rochester.edu

Dziejman Lab

Type Three Secretion System mediated pathogenesis of V. cholerae

Photo of Michael Elliott

Michael R. Elliott, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
michael_elliott@urmc.rochester.edu

Elliott Lab

Cell death and clearance in inflammation and immunity

Photo of Deborah Fowell

Deborah Fowell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
deborah_fowell@urmc.rochester.edu

Fowell LabProgram for Advanced Immune Bioimaging

Differentiation of CD4 T lymphocytes in infectious and autoimmune disease

Photo of John Frelinger

John Frelinger, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
john_frelinger@urmc.rochester.edu

Frelinger Lab

Immunity to Tumor Antigens.

Photo of Harris Gelbard

Harris A. Gelbard, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Neurology
harris_gelbard@urmc.rochester.edu

Gelbard Lab

Molecular mechanisms and potential pharmacological and gene therapeutic interventions for neurologic disease associated with HIV-1 infection of the central nervous system.

Photo of Steve Georas

Steve Georas, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
steve_georas@urmc.rochester.edu

Georas Lab

Regulation of airway immune responses by respiratory viruses, allergens, and pollutants

Photo of Scott Gerber

Scott Gerber, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Surgery
scott_gerber@urmc.rochester.edu

Photo of Francis Gigliotti

Francis Gigliotti, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
francis_gigliotti@urmc.rochester.edu

Pneumocystis carinii pneumonia; Infections in the immunocompromised host

Photo of Steven Gill

Steven R. Gill, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
steven_gill@urmc.rochester.edu

Gill Lab

Microbial pathogens and the impact of human microbial flora on human health and disease.

Photo of Constantine Haidaris

Constantine G. Haidaris, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
constantine_haidaris@urmc.rochester.edu

Haidaris Lab

Infections in the immunocompromised host, mechanisms of pathogenesis, host-microbe interactions and approaches to therapy

Photo of Minsoo Kim

Minsoo Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
minsoo_kim@urmc.rochester.edu

Minsoo Kim LabProgram for Advanced Immune Bioimaging

Dynamic regulation of leukocyte adhesion and migration

Photo of Damian Krysan

Damian Krysan, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
damian_krysan@urmc.rochester.edu

Krysan Lab

Antifungal drug discovery, fungal pathogenesis

Photo of B. Paige Lawrence

B. Paige Lawrence, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Medicine
paige_lawrence@urmc.rochester.edu

Lawrence Lab

Environmental signaling, immune function, and cellular development

Photo of Edith Lord

Edith M. Lord, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
edith_lord@urmc.rochester.edu

Lord Lab

Cell Mediated Immunity to Tumors

Photo of Sanjay Maggirwar

Sanjay Maggirwar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
sanjay_maggirwar@urmc.rochester.edu

Maggirwar Lab

Platelets, HIV, and inflammation

Photo of Luis Martinez-Sobrido

Luis Martinez-Sobrido, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
luis_martinez@urmc.rochester.edu

Martinez-Sobrido Lab

Molecular biology, immunology, and pathogenesis of negative-stranded (Influenza viruses, Respiratory Syncytial Virus, Human Metapneumovirus, arenavirus, Thogoto virus, Ebola virus, Crimean Congo Hemorrhagic Fever virus) and positive-stranded (Dengue virus, SARS coronavirus, Mouse Hepatitis virus) RNA and DNA (human cytomegalovirus and vaccinia) viruses.

Photo of Jim Miller

Jim Miller, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
james_miller@urmc.rochester.edu

Jim Miller Lab

Program for Advanced Immune Bioimaging

Molecular and cellular events that regulate T cell signaling and activation

Photo of Tim Mosmann

Tim R. Mosmann, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
tim_mosmann@urmc.rochester.edu

Mosmann Lab

The regulation of cytokine responses of human and mouse T-cell subsets in infections asthma, allergy and autoimmunity

Photo of Jan Moynihan

Jan A. Moynihan, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry
jan_moynihan@urmc.rochester.edu

The Rochester Center for Mind-Body Research (RCMBR)

Psychoneuroimmunology

Photo of Craig Mullen

Craig Mullen, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
craig_mullen@urmc.rochester.edu

Cancer Immunobiology and Transplant Immunology

Photo of Joshua Munger

Joshua C. Munger, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics
joshua_munger@urmc.rochester.edu

Munger Lab

Mechanisms of metabolic network manipulation induced by viral infection and oncogenic mutation.

Photo of Shawn Murphy

Shawn Murphy, Ph.D.
Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
shawn_murphy@urmc.rochester.edu

Immunoregulatory properties of trophoblast cells

Photo of Jennifer Nayak

Jennifer Nayak, M.D.
Senior Instructor of Pediatrics
jennifer_nayak@urmc.rochester.edu

Sant Lab

CD4 T cells in primary and secondary influenza infection

Photo of Martin Pavelka

Martin Pavelka, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
martin_pavelka@urmc.rochester.edu

Pavelka Lab

Biosynthesis of the Cell Wall of Mycobacterium tuberculosis; Biodefense Research

Photo of Richard Phipps

Richard Phipps, Ph.D.
Professor of Environmental Medicine
richard_phipps@urmc.rochester.edu

Phipps Lab

Control of normal and malignant B lymphocyte activation, cellular and molecular characterization of fibroblasts as mediators of inflammation, wound healing and fibrosis, Graves ophthalmopathy, and platelet biology.

Photo of Sally Quataert

Sally Quataert, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
sally_quataert@urmc.rochester.edu

RHIC Core Lab

Standardization of immunological techniques for clinical investigation of human immune status.

Photo of Robert Quivey

Robert Glenn Quivey, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
robert_quivey@urmc.rochester.edu

Quivey Lab

The bacterium, Streptococcus mutans, which colonizes the human mouth from the time of tooth eruption until death.

Photo of Jacques Robert

Jacques Robert, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
jacques_robert@urmc.rochester.edu

Robert Lab

Evolution of Immune Surveillance, Tumor and Viral Immunity

Photo of Mark Sangster

Mark Y. Sangster, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
mark_sangster@urmc.rochester.edu

Topham LabProgram for Advanced Immune Bioimaging

B cell responses to influenza infection and vaccination; B cell memory; mucosal immunology; mathematical modeling of B cell responses

Photo of Andrea Sant

Andrea Sant, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
andrea_sant@urmc.rochester.edu

Sant Lab

Influenza specific immunity, vaccine design and regulation of T cell responses to pathogens.

Photo of Edward Schwarz

Edward M. Schwarz, Ph.D.
Professor of Orthopaedics
edward_schwarz@urmc.rochester.edu

Schwarz Lab

Pro-inflammatory cytokine signal transduction and novel drug and gene therapies for Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Photo of Patricia Sime

Patricia Sime, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
patricia_sime@urmc.rochester.edu

Sime Lab

Modulation of Pulmonary Inflammation using Gene Transfer Techniques

Photo of Patricia Simpson-Haidaris

Patricia Simpson-Haidaris, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
pj_simpsonhaidaris@urmc.rochester.edu

Role of Fibrinogen in Acute Inflammation.

Photo of Toru Takimoto

Toru Takimoto, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
toru_takimoto@urmc.rochester.edu

Takimoto Lab

Molecular Mechanisms of Paramyxovirus Infection, Replication and Assembly

Photo of Juilee Thakar

Juilee Thakar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
juilee_thakar@urmc.rochester.edu

Thakar Lab

Identification of immune signatures and characterization of dynamics of immune responses by using systems biology approaches.

Photo of David Topham

David Topham, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
david_topham@urmc.rochester.edu

Topham LabProgram for Advanced Immune Bioimaging

T Cell Immunity Against Respiratory Viruses

Photo of John Treanor

John Treanor, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
john_treanor@urmc.rochester.edu

Novel Viral Vaccines and Antivirals

Photo of Brian Ward

Brian Ward, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
brian_ward@urmc.rochester.edu

Ward Lab

Molecular Mechanisms of Poxvirus Envelope Formation

Photo of Terry Wright

Terry W. Wright, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
terry_wright@urmc.rochester.edu

Photo of Felix Yarovinsky

Felix Yarovinsky, M.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
felix_yarovinsky@urmc.rochester.edu

Yarovinsky Lab

Innate immunity, Host-microbial interactions, Immunoparasitology, Mucosal immunology

Photo of Jian Zhu

Jian Zhu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
jian_zhu@urmc.rochester.edu

Zhu Lab

Host-virus interactions, particularly for HIV and herpes viruses